Skip to content

Perry on Personal Identity

February 5, 2013

Here’s another followup to our conversation on Monday. We’ve already met John Perry as the author of a Dialogue on Personal Identity and Immortality, but I strongly suggest having a look at Perry’s “The Problem of the Essential Indexical,” one of the great philosophy papers of the 20th century. Here’s the first paragraph:

I once followed a trial of sugar on a supermarket floor, pushing my cart down the aisle on one side of a tall counter and back the aisle on the other, seeking the shopper with the torn sack to tell him he was making a mess. With each trip around the counter, the trail became thicker. But I seemed unable to catch up. Finally it dawned on me. I was the shopper I was trying to catch.

And here’s Perry in conversation with historian Harry Kriesler.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

